Hit and run cases in Hanover can prove to be very serious charges. No matter the strictness, leaving the scene of an accident is something which produces penalties on both the misdemeanor and felony levels. There are many different essentials to a hit and run case, which is why a skilled Hanover hit and run lawyer should be by your side to handle any and all legal information. Hit-and-run charges not only carry serious penalties upon sentence, but a social disgrace. You need an expert hit and run lawyer who can fight to limit your experience to penalties and move you toward a successful resolution in the most effective manner possible.
Common Scenarios of Hit and Run Charge
Hit and run is not a common offense in Hanover, most of the times hit and run cases are charged in conjunction with other offense. Most commonly, there is a DUI charge where someone hit a car or property owned by another while they were under the influence while driving. Most hit and run cases are Class 1 misdemeanors. If there is no injury and damage to the assets is less than a $1000 then it is a class 1 misdemeanor with up to 12 months in jail and a $2500 fine.
There are a lot of reasons why a driver might escape the scene after an accident, including tremor, distress and any number of feelings and instincts that can take over during worrying and shocking events. Maybe an injury or medical disorder affected or reduced the driver’s judgment. Hit and run occurs when one escapes the scene of an auto mishap. Virginia law places drivers under a number of obligations when they accept their driver’s license. These duties include:
- Stopping your car as close to the scene of an accident as is harmless
- Providing reasonable help to anyone who is hurt
- Providing your name, address, driver’s license, and vehicle registration number to local authorities
- Reporting your accident to law enforcement as soon as possible in the event that your injuries stop you from doing the above
- Making an effort to find the owner in the event that your mishap involves an unattended vehicle. If you cannot find the owner, you must leave a note with your contact information and report the accident to police within 24 hours.
Failure to comply with any of the above duties might lead to criminal charges. The crime might be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, liable on the particulars. The degree of the charges will mainly depend on the amount of goods damage caused, whether there has been an injury or death, and your knowledge at the time of the accident.
If you have committed a hit and run in Hanover Virginia, then you should contact a lawyer immediately. This is true regardless of whether the police have contacted you or not. Everyone is going to have a dissimilar anticipation from their Hanover hit and run lawyer. Though, it is significant to expect hit and run lawyer to prepare a good defense and to look into all existing details.